

DATE:	August 24, 2017
то:	Transportation Authority of Marin Board of Commissioners
FROM:	Dianne Steinhauser, Executive Director Li Zhang, Chief Financial Officer
SUBJECT:	Appointments to the Citizens' Oversight Committee (Action), Agenda Item No. 9b

RECOMMENDATION:

The TAM Board accepts the nomination and appoints the following COC member to serve the remainder of the current four-year term for the League of Women Voters seat on TAM's Citizens' Oversight Committee (COC).

• Member: Kevin Hagerty, League of Women Voters

BACKGROUND:

The COC oversees the Measure A Half-cent Transportation Sales Tax and the Measure B \$10 Vehicle Registration Fee revenue and expenditure activities. As an independently functioning group, the COC assure that the voter approved Measure A Sales Tax and Measure B VRF Expenditure Plans are carried out accordingly. The COC is composed of 12 members and 12 alternates who are private citizens residing in Marin County and collectively represent the diversity of Marin County. All COC members should have no economic interest in TAM's projects. Over the years, due, in part, to the dedication and strong support of the members, the COC has become an indispensable part of TAM.

DISCUSSION/ANALYSIS:

Pamela Gach, a devoted COC member who served as the member of the League of Women Voters since 2013, had to resign from the Committee in June this year since her and her family moved to San Diego to be near her daughter and grandchildren. Staff will truly miss Ms. Gach for her great local knowledge and important input provided to all the important transportation related issues. The Board of the League of Women Voters has appointed Kevin Hagerty as representative to the COC at its July meeting. Mr. Hagerty brings to the COC a rich governmental work experience and abundance of local community knowledge. He will serve the remainder of the current term, which will expire in May 2019.

Position	Candidate	Term Expiration
Northern Marin Planning Area –	Member – V-Anne Chernock	2021
(1)	Alternate – Vacant	
Central Marin Planning Area – (1)	Member - Joy Dahlgren	2021
	Alternate – Jeffrey Olson	
Ross Valley Planning Area – (1)	Member – Paul Roye	2019
	Alternate – Vacant	
Southern Marin Planning Area –	Member - Robert Burton	2019
(1)	Alternate – Jayni Allsep	
West Marin Planning Area – (1)	Member – Scott Tye	2019
	Alternate – Vacant	
Marin County Paratransit	Member - Allan Bortel	2019
Coordinating Council $-(1)$	Alternate – Rocky Birdsey	
Advocacy Group Representing	Member – Vince O'Brien	2019
Bicyclists and Pedestrians $-(1)$	Alternate – Vacant	
Environmental Organizations – (1)	Member – Kate Powers	2021
	Alternate – Nancy Okada	
School Districts – (1)	Member – Vacancy	2021
	Alternate – Vacancy	
Major Marin Employers – (1)	Member – Peter Pelham	2021
	Alternate – Vacant	
Taxpayer Group – (1)	Member – Paul Premo	2021
	Alternate - Vacancy	
League of Women Voters $-(1)$	Member – Kevin Hagerty	2019
	Alternate – Kay Noguchi	

FISCAL CONSIDERATION:

Not Applicable.

NEXT STEPS:

Staff will continue to actively solicit nominations and applications to fill the remaining expiring and vacant positions and will bring the names of qualified candidates to a future TAM Board meeting for consideration.