

DATE:	June 27, 2019
то:	Transportation Authority of Marin Board of Commissioners
FROM:	Dianne Steinhauser, Executive Director Li Zhang, Chief Financial Officer
SUBJECT:	Appointments to the Citizens' Oversight Committee (Action), Agenda Item No. 7b

#### **RECOMMENDATION:**

The TAM Board accepts the nominations and appoints the following members and alternates to a fouryear term on TAM's Citizens' Oversight Committee (COC):

- Member: Mr. Scott Tye, West Marin Planning Area
- Member: Mr. Allan Bortel, Marin County Paratransit Coordinating Council

#### **BACKGROUND:**

The COC oversees the <sup>1</sup>/<sub>2</sub>-cent Measure A/AA Half-Cent Transportation Sales Tax and the Measure B \$10 Vehicle Registration Fee revenue and expenditure activities. As an independently functioning group, the COC assure that the voter approved Measure A/AA Sales Tax and Measure B VRF Expenditure Plans are carried out accordingly. The COC is composed of 12 members and 12 alternates who are private citizens residing in Marin County and collectively represent the diversity of Marin County. All COC members should have no economic interest in TAM's projects. Over the years, due, in part, to the dedication and strong support of the members, the COC has become an indispensable part of TAM.

#### **DISCUSSION/ANALYSIS:**

A number of positions on TAM's COC expired on May 31, 2019. Staff reached out to all current members/alternates to re-apply or to recommend suitable candidates to replace them on this committee. An application is also posted on the TAM website for all interest parties to apply as part of an ongoing effort to continue to fill out the remaining vacant positions. Staff is happy to report that most of the current members decided to continue their service on the committee. The table below illustrates all COC positions by representing organization or planning area. Staff will continue to actively solicit nominations for the COC and fill any remaining vacancies. As part of the Board's June action, staff recommends that the TAM Board appoint the following Marin citizens to the COC for his/her respective position.

Mr. Scott Tye, Member representing the West Marin Planning Area: Mr. Tye is a longtime activist and local legend in Stinson Beach and has been a resident of Marin since 1974. As someone who really cares about the wellbeing and future of his local community, Mr. Tye has been dedicating most of his free time to various committees and boards, including the Marin County Civil Grand Jury, the Stinson Beach Country Water District, the Stinson Beach Village Association, Committee for Comprehensive Transportation Management for South Marin Parklands, and the TAM's Citizens' Oversight Committee. Through those critical groups, Mr. Tye voiced his opinions and made great contributions to the successful solution and improvement of various local projects and issues, especially traffic and environmental issues in the West Marin area.

Mr. Allan Bortel, Member representing the Marin County Paratransit Coordinating Council: A successful Wall Street stock analyst prior to retirement, Mr. Bortel brings to the COC a wide range of experiences, which help the Committee act with confidence when reviewing the financials of the agency. Mr. Bortel has been a resident of Marin County for 47 years. He has dedicated much of his time after retirement to various services that help improve mobility and quality of life, especially for seniors, in Marin. Mr. Bortel's extensive volunteering services include serving on the Non-Motorized Transportation Pilot Program Citizen's Advisory Committee, Marin Paratransit Coordinating Council, Marin County Commission on Aging, Steering Committee of the Marin County Senior Information Fair, Land Use and Transportation Committee of Marin Conservation League, Belvedere-Tiburon Library Trustee, and Board of Marin Villages, just to name a few. For his dedication and outstanding service, Mr. Bortel was honored as the Volunteer of the Year by the Redwoods Retirement Residence in 2006 and Volunteer of the Year by the Aging Services of California in 2011.

## FISCAL CONSIDERATION:

Not Applicable.

## **NEXT STEPS:**

Staff will continue to actively solicit nominations and applications to fill the remaining vacant positions.

Position	Candidate	Term Expiration
Northern Marin Planning Area –	Member – Charley Vogt	2021
(1)	Alternate – Veda Florez	
Central Marin Planning Area – (1)	Member - Joy Dahlgren	2021
	Alternate – Jeffrey Olson	
Ross Valley Planning Area – (1)	Member – Paul Roye	2023
	Alternate – Vacant	
Southern Marin Planning Area –	Member - Robert Burton	2023
(1)	Alternate – Jayni Allsep	
West Marin Planning Area – (1)	Member – Scott Tye	2023
	Alternate – Vacant	
Marin County Paratransit	Member - Allan Bortel	2023
Coordinating Council $-(1)$	Alternate – Vacant	
Advocacy Group Representing	Member – Vince O'Brien	2023
Bicyclists and Pedestrians $-(1)$	Alternate – Vacant	
Environmental Organizations – (1)	Member – Kate Powers	2021
	Alternate – Nancy Okada	
School Districts $-(1)$	Member – Zack Macdonald	2021
	Alternate – Vacancy	
Major Marin Employers – (1)	Member – Peter Pelham	2021
	Alternate – Vacant	
Taxpayer Group $-(1)$	Member – Paul Premo	2021
	Alternate - Vacancy	
League of Women Voters $-(1)$	Member – Kevin Hagerty	2023
	Alternate – Kay Noguchi	

# TAM Citizens' Oversight Committee Membership (June 2019)

## THIS PAGE LEFT BLANK INTENTIONALLY